top of page

Pretty in Pink, Piss Off

I've recently been forced to confront the fact that I have gradually been compiling a modest collection of pink items - be it clothes, shoes, stationery, kitchenware etc. We're talking this season's blush pink here of course, or similar variations, save for my borderline fluorescent pink Nike trainers. Whilst this may not appear to be anything out of the ordinary, for myself and those that know me, this may be somewhat alarming behaviour.

Photo: Faux Fur Coat: Asos// Quilted Puffer Coat: Mango

To give a brief historical context of my attitudes towards the colour pink: I despised it, ardently. Growing up, especially through the teenage years, I wouldn't associate myself with the colour at all. My family in particular were made all too aware of my aversion to pink, and indeed anything that would cliche me as being 'girly'. No horses, pretty dresses, glittery hair things. In all honesty, I was a bit of a tomboy I suppose (if that's still a thing?), and I mean in the sense of having no interest in makeup, fashion, ballet and well, anything pink. Despite still having the occasional fashion mishap from time to time (but hey, its modern society and all fashion is an extension of self-expression), I blanch in horror at the many fashion faux pas committed in the duration of my teen existence. Truly, scruffy trainers, black school trousers and an oversized white t-shirt hanging out from under a purple jumper is a no no.

So I address this sudden change of perspective. In hindsight, it hasn't been sudden - more of a gradual process which I have only just acknowledged. Yes, I do like pink. No, that doesn't make me stereotypically 'girly'. In fact, I've noticed the not-so-subtle change in the stigmas and associations attached to such words, hence my dubious mention of the existence of the phrase 'tomboy' and the inverted commas around 'girly'. It feels that modern society has grown perhaps rather wise or let's say 'more mature' to the delicacies surrounding stereotypes. What defines a 'tomboy' nowadays? Is there such thing as being 'girly'? In the age of feminism and other such relevant concepts, it feels improper and slightly prejudiced to use them. Can't someone just express themselves freely without being pigeonholed or labelled as a certain stereotype? Much in the same way blue is not for boys and pink is not for girls, thank you nineteenth century culture.

Conclusively, I am wholesomely embracing my change of judgement in the colour pink. I have newly acquired a delightful cropped, oversized (how does that work?) pink sweater and pink suede trainers which I wear almost consistently, I perennially find myself drawn to pink objects or styles in stores, and I am currently considering investing in a pink ceramic kitchenware set (okay, so that's a joke). And no, this does't make me any more or less of a girl than the next.

Some of the best things are pink:

Percy Pigs

Breast Cancer Charity

Nigella's Pink Kitchenaid Mixer

Pink Lemonade

Sophia Amoruso's '#Girlboss' Book

Calpol

Flamingoes

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page