top of page

Ich bin eine "tryna be" Berliner

Many thanks to my university's abundance of the extra-curricular, I was given the opportunity to visit Berlin for a few days. I am not one who can currently boast a wealth of nor broad spectrum of exotic travel destinations visited, so whilst I am that person who will try to sneak Ireland into the category of 'holidays abroad', the chance to travel to one of the popular capital cities was of great appeal. I might add that this trip was a duration of five days and supposedly focused around the economic consequences of the fall of the Berlin Wall. However, there was as much economics involved as you might find sultanas in a cheap scone. Very little.

Berlin struck me as being a curious blend of qualities. The central part of the city seemed to be a buzz of infinite activity but in an almost melodious chaotic sort of way. Traffic was a constant onslaught of beeping horns, disregard of pedestrian crossings and somewhat meteoric driving - a minor debacle to navigate for someone who's used to the comparatively calmer roads of the Devon countryside. However, the Berliners walked and cycled their way through the streets with ease, weaving in and out of the cars' vicinity like automated clockwork.

There are many avenues that branch out from the internal city, creating a hazardous web of potential to get lost (which yes, we did). However, wandering around without a predetermined destination can be an unrivalled way of uncovering a city's culture and discovering a few hidden gems. Each new street hurrahed a number of little independent bistros and restaurants, all with idyllic outdoor seating, colourful awnings and classily dressed tables. There was plentiful greenery, courtesy of some strange, spindly, yet luscious trees and I was mildly surprised by the non-stop availability of bakeries, not an unwelcome surprise.

The staple tourist attractions were of course visited. The Brandenburg Gate on a hot sunny day alongside visits to the Reichstag Building and Dunkin' Donuts. An evening trip to Alexanderplatz, surrounded by the twilight hum of the city, with a moderately overpriced viewing from the top of the Fernsehturm. Whilst I obligingly complain (mildly) about the price, the view really is spectacular, especially in the evening when the city is lit up and the bar is serving cocktails within the dim glow of the TV tower's chamber. Checkpoint Charlie in all it's military glory and of course, the Berlin Wall (or what's left go it anyway).

(All photos are taken by me).

Despite attending a two hour German language class and self teaching myself a few of the basics via the multilingual app Duolingo (not sponsored) prior to the trip, I rather ashamedly didn't actually speak any German during my stay save the time I hesitantly muttered 'danke' to the checkout lady in a supermarket. I speculate this lack of communication is a resultant fear of getting pronunciation wrong. Besides I can sheepishly say that most of the Berliners speak English or at the very least are able to patiently interpret hand gestures and facial expressions.

Conclusively, my first experience of Berlin I look upon, in hindsight, with a certain amount of amusement and a handful of mild nostalgia. Whilst at the time I wasn't overwhelmed with the excitement and grattitude I should've ought to, I find myself, now that I've left (as is always the way), feeling almost wistful to the busy but pleasant environment of the city. The seemingly endless naps in our A&O hostel on the outskirts of the central city, the trams still running alongside the main roads, the grand but tastefully understated architecture. I fancy that I will visit Berlin again, besides, I still have yet to try a bratwurst.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page