top of page

The Avocado Advocate

As an economics student, it seemed only befitting that one of my introductory articles be within the field of the economy (and no, not that field of wheat that Theresa May admits to running through). I use the connection to economics very lightly here, much in the same way as you can regard ready salted crisps - they're subjective; they can be plain, excessively salty or just right. This article will be more of a narrative in the trend of commodities rather than an analytical and highly perplexing one.

So, avocados.

Whilst anything but humble in modern gastronomy, this formerly unpresuming fruit has superseded its previous life as the mere base ingredient for guacamole. I fancy that they look rather like reptilian Russian dolls and they will forever remain in my imagination as the ever pregnant fruit.

It has become almost achingly apparent that avocados are serving more than simply the sole purpose of nutrition. Instagram is a plethora of avo-adoration and such avocado artisans will be well initiated in the art of avocado roses and other various contemporary pursuits that involve transforming this 'butter fruit' into wonderfully obscure creations.

Undeniably, the avocado has amassed itself a squadron of dedicated advocates. Trendy it is to be seen brunching over smashed avocado on (sweet potato) toast or whizzing it into a sauce for your (courgette) pasta. Whilst I make reference to your typical health gurus, the power of the avocado appears to be perhaps limitless. We're talking enamel pins, patches, card prints, pillows, phone cases... you get my drift - The demand for avocados is astronomical.

However, there seems to be a rather complex stigma attached to avocados. Perhaps I'm being a little condescending, but it is mystifying how avocados can be 'a la mode' and elitist, yet the thought of being considered as 'that' person leads many of us to hide the fruit from the general public through strategical placement in our shopping baskets (social media, different story - can't advertise our avocado eating tendencies enough).

I have tried to be objective rather than subjective in regards to this fruit. However, it would appear I do like to use the 'a' word a lot. I've used the word avocado 11 times in this article. Oh wait, make that 12. But for now, I'm off to make guacamole...

My mum always did say not to mix green and yellow...(Photo cred: my sister).

If you regard this article in the same way you find under-salted ready salted crisps (i.e not meeting your economic expectations), then by all means have a read of my more

statistical report here:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page